top of page

When Our Beloved Pets Die

My beautiful Labrador, Tiare (named after the Tahitian gardenia) passed away on September 8th, 2011. She was just two months shy of turning four years old (see birth chart below).

Physical symptoms appeared quite suddenly on July 26th 2011. Around 5 PM, after returning from our usual walk, she sat on her bed and began to pant heavily. Her body was trembling. It was obvious that she was in pain. It appeared to be in the area of her right hind leg, which she held high, swollen, as if cramped tightly to her body.

A visit from the local veterinarian didn’t seem to help solve her medical mystery. It was suggested that it could be signs of hip dysplasia.

I informed the vet that earlier that same day, in the morning, I had made a new bed cover for her bed with a soft new fabric. I was excited to give her a new bed cover and told her that while I sewed it.

When I recounted this to the vet, she looked at me as if I were crazy. What could a new bed cover have to do with my dog’s physical symptoms? So we began administering anti-inflammatories to reduce the swelling in her right hind leg.

She appeared to be making a gradual recovery. But over the next six weeks, my intuition was telling me something different.

Upon deeper reflection, I remembered that when I had taken her old soiled bed cover off and threw it away I saw a look of shock on my dog’s face. She looked at her new bed, looked at me, looked at the trash bin with a look of disbelief.

I called her over to lie down with me on her new bed. I told her how beautiful it was. How nice it would be for her. She seemed confused but somewhat pleased at the same time.

I had no idea at that time the potential impact of my simple gesture. It was not until after she passed away that my mind lit up like a Christmas tree. All the connections and insights confirming what I had suspected. Tiare had experienced an unexpected emotional conflict that triggered dis-ease in her physical body.

Even my body was communicating with me intuitively over this six-week period. I had a strange dull ache in my lower back, on both sides around the areas of my kidneys. It was as if something was gnawing away at me, trying to get my attention. After she passed, the ache mysteriously dissolved away.

According to Dr. Ryke Geerd Hamer, the collecting tubules of the kidneys are associated with a biological conflict of profound abandonment such as feeling isolated or excluded, being suddenly out of the group.

The calyxes, renal pelvis and ureters of the kidneys are associated with a territorial conflict, the inability to mark one’s territory or an identity conflict of not knowing where to belong or the inability to find one’s territorial place. (Learn more about Dr. Hamer and how emotional conflicts trigger dis-ease).

Her territory was her bed (her bed cover included)!

All the signs were there. Why didn’t I listen to my intuition? Why didn’t I listen to my body? I wish I knew then what I believe I know now to be true.

Our pets are very sensitive, loving creatures. Please be conscious of your pet’s environment. Please be aware of your pet’s emotions. And please listen to your intuition.

Tiare’s birth chart is in the inner wheel, the transiting planets in the outer wheel at the time of her passing.

Transiting Neptune’s opposition with transiting Mercury was square to Tiare’s Ascendant. The Ascendant represents the health-center and physical body. Transiting Venus was precisely square natal Jupiter ruler of her Ascendant —perhaps a sign (at least, for me) that her transition back to spirit was a smooth and peaceful one. I hope so.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Category
No tags yet.
Astrology Astrologer Lauren Delsack chart readings consultations birth time rectification
bottom of page